LinkedIn character counter
LinkedIn publishes four character limits that matter for outreach: 200 for a connection request note on a free account, 3,000 for a post, 200 for an InMail subject line and 1,900 for an InMail body, although two LinkedIn pages put the body at 2,000. The headline, the About section and comments on feed posts have no published limit at all: the 220, 2,600 and 1,250 you see elsewhere are widely repeated figures that LinkedIn does not state anywhere on its help site. Pick the field, paste your text, and the count updates as you type.
Everything here runs in your browser. Nothing you type is sent to us or anyone else, there is no signup and no email gate.
Counted against 200, as stated on LinkedIn's help page.
Sources: LinkedIn help a563153, LinkedIn help a6239760, LinkedIn help a550555
The count is in grapheme clusters (what you see as one character) where your browser supports it, otherwise in Unicode code points. LinkedIn does not document how it counts emoji or combining characters, so for emoji-heavy text LinkedIn's own count may differ from this one by a few.
Every LinkedIn character limit, with its source
Read from LinkedIn's help pages on 2026-09-03. Verified means LinkedIn states the figure and its pages agree. Where LinkedIn pages disagree, both figures are shown. Where LinkedIn publishes nothing, the row says so and gives the widely reported figure as unverified.
| Field | Limit | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Connection request note (free account) | 200 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a563153, LinkedIn help a6239760, LinkedIn help a550555 |
| Connection request note (Premium) | 300 (older page only) | LinkedIn pages disagree | LinkedIn help a6239760 (300), LinkedIn help a563153 |
| Post | 3,000 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a528176, LinkedIn help a522483 |
| Profile headline | Not published. Reported: 220 (unverified) | Not published by LinkedIn | LinkedIn help a542926 (checked, no figure) |
| About section | Not published. Reported: 2,600 (unverified) | Not published by LinkedIn | LinkedIn help a553140 (checked, no figure) |
| Comment on a post | Not published. Reported: 1,250 (unverified) | Not published by LinkedIn | LinkedIn help a544801, LinkedIn help a524166 (checked, no figure) |
| InMail subject line | 200 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a554514, LinkedIn help a411986 |
| InMail body | 1,900 or 2,000 | LinkedIn pages disagree | LinkedIn help a411986 (1,900), Sales Navigator help a107018 (1,900), Recruiter help a417098 (1,900), LinkedIn help a554514 (2,000), LinkedIn help a546814 (2,000) |
| Group post | 3,000 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a544801 |
| Group comment | 1,250 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a544801 |
| Article body | 125,000 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a522483 |
| Custom profile URL | 3 to 100 | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a542685 |
| Skills on a profile | 100 skills | Verified on LinkedIn help | LinkedIn help a549047 |
What each LinkedIn page says
- Connection request note (free account): 200
Both LinkedIn pages that state a figure agree on 200 characters for a free account. They disagree on how many personalised notes a free account gets each month: the current page says three, the two older pages say five.
“Each message can be up to 200 characters”
LinkedIn help a563153. Current page (about four months old at fetch). It also says free accounts get three personalised requests a month, and that Premium members get unlimited personalised invitations, with no Premium character count.
“Members with basic (free) accounts can send up to five personalized invitations to connect with a character limit of 200.”
LinkedIn help a6239760. Older page (about two years old at fetch). Agrees on 200 but says five personalised invitations a month, not three.
“Basic and free LinkedIn members can include a personalized message to five connection requests per month.”
LinkedIn help a550555. Also says five a month. Gives no character count.
- Connection request note (Premium): 300 (older page only)
The 300 figure comes from one older LinkedIn page only. The current page on personalised invitations gives no character count for Premium, so treat 300 as unconfirmed by LinkedIn's current documentation.
“Members with Premium memberships are able to send an unlimited number of personalized notes with their invitation/connection requests each with a character limit of 300.”
LinkedIn help a6239760. Older page (about two years old at fetch). The only LinkedIn page that gives a Premium character count.
“LinkedIn Premium members can send unlimited personalized invitations to all their connection requests (connection request limits may still apply)”
LinkedIn help a563153. Current page. Gives no Premium character count at all.
- Post: 3,000
Two LinkedIn pages agree on 3,000. Where the "see more" fold falls is not documented by LinkedIn; the figures you see elsewhere (around 210 characters or three lines on desktop) are third-party measurements.
“The character limit for a post is 3,000 characters.”
LinkedIn help a528176. Updated about a week before fetch. The same page: "If your post exceeds 3000 characters, you can instead write an article using LinkedIn's Publishing Platform."
“The character limit for a post is 3000 characters.”
- Profile headline: Not published. Reported: 220 (unverified)
LinkedIn's help page on the headline gives no character count. 220 is the figure widely reported by third parties (raised from 120 in late 2024, by those reports). LinkedIn does not state it.
Checked LinkedIn help a542926: "Edit Your Headline": describes how to edit the headline and gives no character count.
- About section: Not published. Reported: 2,600 (unverified)
LinkedIn's help page on the About section gives no character count. 2,600 is the figure widely reported by third parties. LinkedIn does not state it.
Checked LinkedIn help a553140: "Edit the About section on your profile": describes how to edit the section and gives no character count.
- Comment on a post: Not published. Reported: 1,250 (unverified)
LinkedIn publishes 1,250 for comments in groups only. No LinkedIn page states a limit for comments on feed posts; the 1,250 figure repeated for feed comments is unverified.
“Character limit for comments 1250”
LinkedIn help a544801. This is the Groups limits table. It applies to comments in groups, not to comments on feed posts.
Checked LinkedIn help a524166: "Comment on posts and reply to a comment": describes how to comment and gives no character count.
- InMail subject line: 200
Every LinkedIn page that states a figure says 200 for the subject line. The pages disagree on whether the subject line is required or optional.
“InMail messages can have up to 200 characters in the optional subject line and up to 2000 characters in the body.”
LinkedIn help a554514. InMail FAQ, updated three days before fetch.
“InMail messages can have up to 200 characters in the required subject line and up to 1900 characters in the body.”
LinkedIn help a411986. InMail character limits page. Identical copies at /help/recruiter/answer/a411986 and /help/sales-navigator/answer/a411986.
- InMail body: 1,900 or 2,000
LinkedIn contradicts itself. Three pages say 1,900 (the InMail character limits page, the Sales Navigator compose page and the Recruiter InMail FAQ). Two say 2,000 (the InMail FAQ and the send-InMail page). The tool counts against 1,900, the lower figure. In Sales Navigator a signature of up to 150 characters counts toward the total.
“InMail messages can have up to 200 characters in the required subject line and up to 1900 characters in the body.”
LinkedIn help a411986. InMail character limits page. Identical copies at /help/recruiter/answer/a411986 and /help/sales-navigator/answer/a411986.
“Add a subject line (200 character limit) and enter your message (1900 character limit).”
Sales Navigator help a107018. Sales Navigator compose page. The same page: "Signatures are limited to 150 characters, which are counted in the total number of message characters."
“Subject line: up to 200 characters Message body: up to 1,900 characters”
Recruiter help a417098. Recruiter InMail FAQ, updated the day before fetch.
“InMail messages can have up to 200 characters in the optional subject line and up to 2000 characters in the body.”
LinkedIn help a554514. InMail FAQ, updated three days before fetch.
“InMail messages can have up to 200 characters in the subject line and up to 2000 characters in the body.”
LinkedIn help a546814. Send an InMail message page.
- Group post: 3,000
Groups only. Same figure as a feed post.
“Character limit for group posts 3000”
LinkedIn help a544801. From the Groups limits table.
- Group comment: 1,250
Groups only. LinkedIn publishes no equivalent figure for comments on feed posts.
“Character limit for comments 1250”
LinkedIn help a544801. From the Groups limits table.
- Article body: 125,000
A separate LinkedIn page on writing articles says there is no limit on word count; the character limit is the one LinkedIn states.
“Articles are typically longer than posts and are limited to 125,000 characters.”
- Custom profile URL: 3 to 100
The part after linkedin.com/in/. Between 3 and 100 characters, letters and numbers only.
“Your custom URL can be 3-100 characters long and should not contain spaces, symbols, special characters, or the word LinkedIn.”
- Skills on a profile: 100 skills
A count of skills, not characters. LinkedIn publishes no per-skill character limit.
“You can add up to 100 skills to your profile.”
Sources
LinkedIn help pages this page relies on. Where LinkedIn publishes nothing, the page says so instead of inventing a figure.
- Personalize invitations to connect (LinkedIn help a563153)
- Differences between InMail Messages and personalized invitations (LinkedIn help a6239760)
- Invitation limit reached (LinkedIn help a550555)
- Post and share updates (LinkedIn help a528176)
- Differences between posting updates and publishing articles (LinkedIn help a522483)
- Edit Your Headline (LinkedIn help a542926)
- Edit the About section on your profile (LinkedIn help a553140)
- General limits for LinkedIn groups (LinkedIn help a544801)
- Comment on posts and reply to a comment (LinkedIn help a524166)
- InMail Messages FAQ (LinkedIn help a554514)
- InMail character limits (LinkedIn help a411986)
- Send an InMail message in Sales Navigator (Sales Navigator help a107018)
- InMail messages in Recruiter FAQ (Recruiter help a417098)
- Send an InMail Message (LinkedIn help a546814)
- Manage your public profile URL (LinkedIn help a542685)
- Add and remove skills on your profile (LinkedIn help a549047)
If you send connection notes and follow-ups at scale, ZenMode paces them from your own computer and lets you approve every message before it goes out. See how ZenMode works